If convicted of a DUI Felony in San Diego County and if it were your 4th DUI within a 10-year period you would be facing
- 16 months, or 2 or 3 years in the California State Prison system
- Fines that would approximately $1,800
- A four year State of California driver’s license revocation/suspension
- Designated as a ”habitual traffic offender” by the California DMV
If there is an injury as a result of your DUI, the sentences are likely to be increased. Similarly, if you cause a death as a result of your DUI you would be sentenced very differently. Potential sentence for such an offense could lead to lifetime imprisonment and a “strike” on your record pursuant to the State of California’s three strikes law.
Additional Conditions That Can Accompany DUI Probation in San Diego County
- You will not be permitted to drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system
- You shall not refuse to submit to any chemical test of your blood, breath or urine if arrested by law enforcement for a DUI
- You shall not be permitted to commit any additional crimes, if you do your probation could be revoked and you would face further punishment
Here are some common and effective defense strategies for fighting the DUI charge.